The Records Unit is the central repository of records vital to an efficiently running law enforcement agency. It maintains records including crime reports, warrants, citations, and registrants. It may also be the citizen’s first point of contact with the police department, either through the business line or the front desk.
The Records Unit is open to the public Monday through Friday 8:30am to 5:30pm (excluding holidays). During lobby hours Records personnel provide assistance to citizens with crime reports, accident reports, ticket sign-offs, local background checks, fingerprinting, and other services. In addition, they assist other agencies with local records checks and other relevant information.
Front Lobby hours Monday through Friday 8:30AM to 5:30PM (excluding holidays).
Records personnel can also be reached by telephone, Monday through Friday 8AM to 5:30PM at 650-780-7100.
Police reports may only be released to authorized parties and according to State law. Reports involving certain types of crime (i.e.; juvenile cases and some sex-related crimes) cannot be released to anyone except district attorneys or law enforcement agencies.
- To determine if a report can be released to you, or for information about the status of your report, please contact the Records Division at 650-780-7100
- To obtain a copy of a releasable police report (i.e.; theft, property damage or loss, incident reports, traffic accidents), you must be a named involved party to the case (not merely a witness).
- The processing and copying fee for all police reports is $10 for the first 8 pages and $1 for each additional page.
- If you are involved in a traffic collision and would like to purchase your report on line, you can do so by going to policereports.us.
Local Record Check – Clearance Letter
A clearance letter may be required when going through a background check or investigation. This letter is only available to those who reside in the City of Redwood City and only provides an arrest record check of our local records system. The fee for this letter is $10 and walk-in requests are welcome during lobby hours 8:30AM to 5:30PM. Please bring valid photo identification.
For information on obtaining a State of California criminal record (for personal review only), please visit the State of California Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General website
Live Scan – Fingerprinting
Live Scan and Ink Card fingerprinting services are provided by appointment only and are available Tuesday through Thursday between 10:00AM to 12:00PM and 2:00PM to 3:30PM. Please call the Records Unit at 650-780-7100 to schedule an appointment. Fingerprinting requires a valid U.S. or foreign-issued government identification. Live Scan services require a Live Scan form provided by the agency requesting the service. The cost for ink cards is $15 per card. The cost for Live Scan includes RCPD Rolling Fee: $15 + DOJ $32 and/or FBI $17.
All vehicles towed by Redwood City Police must have a release form issued by the police department before the tow company can release them. Eligible vehicles are released in person to the registered owner ONLY of the vehicle at Redwood City Police Department.
- The owner must supply a valid California driver’s license and pay the $75 release fee to the Redwood City Police Department. The owner may also have to supply current valid registration depending on the reason for the tow. (If the owner does not have a valid California driver’s license, then he/she must bring a valid California licensed driver with him/her).
- After obtaining a vehicle release form from the Police Department, the owner must take the form to the tow company, where all towing and storage fees must be paid to the tow company.
If your vehicle was repossessed in the City of Redwood City (excluding unincorporated areas), you will need to pay a $15 fee to the Redwood City Police Department. You must be the registered owner of the vehicle and present a valid California driver’s license.
If your violation is a vehicle equipment problem, ensure it is fixed first before coming to the police department. There currently is no fee associated with this service. Walk-ins are welcome Monday through Friday from 8:30AM to 5:30PM.
Please note: Violations of Vehicle Code section16028 (automobile liability insurance) will be dismissed only upon (1) your showing or mailing to the court evidence of financial responsibility valid at the time this notice to appear was issued, and (2) your payment of a transaction fee.
For information on permits and fees, please click here.